Vinyl Press: Version Blog-o-sphere

Battle of Who Could Pay More

Posted in Uncategorized by vinylrecordsunc on September 18, 2008

Since it is the eve of the big Ben Folds Five reunion concert, I’d like to point out how much tickets are going for on the market. The economy might be tanking right now, but that didn’t stop the pair of tickets priced at $1499.99 on eBay last week from getting snatched up. It seems like the current going price for most of the prime seats on eBay is $600 for a pair. I would report how much tickets are selling for on Craigslist, but I don’t feel like wading through the thousands of “WANTED: one Ben Folds Five ticket – $1” listings.

Two years ago, I spent a terrible night outside of Memorial Hall to get a ticket to Mr. Folds’ show. How terrible? It was drizzling, February, and I got into a fistfight with a drunk dude. And I don’t mean to be blasphemous, but the show wasn’t anything special, especially compared to the show I’d seen him put on a year before at Wake Forest. That one might just be the best performance I’ve ever been to.

I hope for all those who were crazy ticket-getting warriors that tomorrow is mind-blowing. Anyone who is bitter or sad about not going can join me by watching this video tomorrow night and sulking.

Sing the horn part to “Army” as loud as you can, just for me.

– Matt

Tagged with: , , ,

Leave a Reply

