Vinyl Press: Version Blog-o-sphere

Confession

Posted in Uncategorized by vinylrecordsunc on October 3, 2008

I have a confession to make. This has been weighing on me for about a year and a half now, but I have to get it off my chest.

I love John Mayer. I don’t just like him, either. Nay, I LOVE John Mayer. In a perfect world, we would meet and he would realize that he loves me too and we would get married and have beautiful, talented precocious children.

I didn’t always feel this way about Mr. Mayer. I actually hated his first album, Room for Squares, and I REALLY hated the song “No Such Thing.” I still don’t really care for that album. But then, as he started to grow as an artist, I started to notice him. His album Heavier Things reflected an artist who’s musical potential had not yet been fully tapped. It was his most recent studio album from 2007, which now old news, that solidified him in my mind as a genuine talent.

There’s no doubt that that boy can play the guitar, but his song craft on Continuum is so mature and so well thought out that I almost don’t mind confessing that I’m a total sell out for John Mayer. Songs like “Stop This Train,” in which he sings pensively about getting older, resonates with me especially. Plus he totally rhymes “68” with “renegotiate.” I love it.

So, stand up if you secretly love John Mayer. I don’t think you really have to be ashamed anymore.

Oh-and I found this great cover, which for some reason isn’t loading. Here’s the link, though.

John Mayer-Free Falling

-Kathleen

Leave a Reply

