Vinyl Press: Version Blog-o-sphere

Tunes of Turkey Day

Posted in Uncategorized by vinylrecordsunc on November 27, 2008

My family has three Thanksgivings.

My parents host the first for all of our friend in Winston Salem on Thanksgiving eve. Then on Thanksgiving day, we drive to Richmond County to have lunch with my mom side of the family and dinner with my dad’s side of the family.

With all this prepping, cooking, driving, eating, and excessive napping of course, we have to have a little music to get us through.

I know it’s hard not to be a  Grinch when Christmas music is so terrible, but fear not! I have the Christmas music low down.

I begin my holiday season by listening to The Chieftains “The Bells Of Dublin.” This, in my opinion, is the greatest Christmas album of ALL TIME. The Chieftains are kings of the traditional Irish folk music genre, and they apply that style to Christmas in a way that always makes me happy that I’m about to have to go shopping and freak out about finals.

Other favorites are A Canadian Brass Christmas, and Sufjan Stevens’ “Hark! Songs for Christmas,” which my room mate and fellow Vinyl family member, Sarah, screams at the top of her lungs. It’s charming, really.

Paddy Maloney, who is a member of The Chieftains, released and album called “Silent Night: A Christmas in Rome” that is not one of my all time favorites, but it does provide a nice change.

In the classical genre we have two traditions, and I don’t care if they are ubiquitous. Tchaikovsky’s “The Nutcracker” and Handel’s “Messiah.”

So those are some albums with class that will hopefully see you through the season.

Gobble gobble!

-Kathleen

Leave a Reply

