Vinyl Press: Version Blog-o-sphere

Best of 2008- Kathleen Sharpe

Posted in music by vinylrecordsunc on December 5, 2008

I had a lot of catching up to do this week on all th emusic I’ve missed out on this year. I got so caught up in the triumphs of 2007, which were FAR from minimal, that I kind of forgot that there were still artists releasing beautiful work this year. So this week I actually sat down and listened to all of the bands I had heard little snippets of and all the names I had heard dropped. My ears were tickled by little delights like the surprising duo of Zooey Dehschannel (of whome I’ve always been a big fan) and M. Ward, AKA She & Him, and the heardt wrenching musings of Bon Iver. 2008 might not have been quite as stunning as 2007, but it certainly had its moments.

Best Albums of 2008

5. Esperanza Spalding- Esperanza

4. Flight of the Concords-Flight of the Concords

3. She & Him- Volume I

2. Fleet Foxes-Fleet Foxes

1. Sun Kil Moon- April

Best Songs of 2008

5. Lost Coastlines- Okkervil River

4. Yoav- Club Thing

3. Fleet Foxes- Ragged Wood

2. Skinny Love- Bon Iver

1. Paper Planes- MIA

Best Live Shows of 2008

5. Cat Power@ Cat’s Cradle, February 2008

4. Ben Folds @ memorial Hall, Fall 2008

3. Andrew Bird @ Memorial Hall, Fall 2008

2. Iron & Wine @ Memorial Hall, Spring 2008

1. Radiohead @ Altell Pavilion

Biggest Disappointments of 2008

5. Jenny Lewis- Acid Tongues

4. Cat Power- Jukebox

3. Ben Folds- Way to Normal

2. Death Cab for Cutie- Narrow Stair

1. Ryan Adams and the Cardinals- Cadinology

Highest Expectations for 2009

5. Lisa Hannigan- Sea Saw

4.  Jay-z- The Blueprint 3

3. Stars-TBA

2. Postal Service- TBA

1. Andrew Bird- Noble Beast

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Corey said, on December 5, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    what is with all the hating on the new ben folds album??? am I one of the only ones who thinks it was pretty solid? he’s having fun with music again.

  2. vinylrecordsunc said, on December 7, 2008 at 2:09 am

    Corey, I can’t speak for Kathleen or Adam, but I felt like the new Ben Folds album was a step backwards from ‘Songs for Silverman’ – and here’s why. To me, the music lacked the spark that previous albums had (where did all of the great piano solos go?). When Folds played at UNC a couple years ago, he acted as if the synth was going to take a role as something he could explore musically, but it wasn’t used that way on ‘Way to Normal’. The lyrics in ‘Way to Normal’ didn’t capture me the way previous albums had. I’ve loved Ben Folds for a long time. The first concert I saw of his was one of the best ever for me. However, this album was my biggest letdown of 2008. I’m glad you enjoy it though – Ben Folds is still a fabulous artist, and I always like hearing that people are happy with his post-BFF work. Get in touch with us here at Vinyl if you want to talk more about it, and thanks for reading Vinyl Press.

    — Matt Poindexter

  3. bah said, on December 11, 2008 at 2:17 am

    “where did all of the great piano solos go?”

    lol.

  4. mmmfoxsmints said, on December 22, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    Lisa Hannigan’s album is fantastic. It came out here sometime in Autumn. Very well received. She is excellent live, I thought she might be a bit nervous like she was onstage with Damien but no she has really come into her own. She has a really fun band behind her too. Great album!

  5. vinylrecordsunc said, on January 26, 2009 at 8:41 am

    Damien Rice & Co. got me through high school, so I am SUPER pumped about Lisa’s album. Her voice is just so emotive.
    Thanks for the comment. Keep reading!
    Kathleen


Leave a Reply

