Vinyl Press: Version Blog-o-sphere

A Note on Michael Jackson

Posted in love, music by Matt on June 26, 2009

Here at Vinyl Press, we flirted with the idea of a big Michael Jackson post and didn’t really know what to do. None of us really lived in the era of his domination – I’ll be 22 this year, and my earliest memory of the man was as a running joke on morning radio shows. Dangerous, his last good album, was released in 1991. Sadly, nothing from 1992-on happened that was more positive than being a joke that stopped being funny many years ago. Outside of the usual top ten list, I don’t feel comfortable commenting here on things that do not deal directly with Vinyl Records UNC, our artists, or the Chapel Hill music scene specifically. Any attempt to put Michael Jackson’s total musical output into context today would most likely be little more than self-serving and unnecessary. Especially when so many other people are doing it so  much better than we could hope to. Go to those links. One reminds us that Michael Jackson was acquitted of all charges. One lets the music speak for itself. One uses 20 years of wisdom I don’t have to write this post. One is an invaluable trip through the archives to look at how we reacted to Michael Jackson – in 1982, 1987, and on – without the all-changing hand of death skewing our collective perception.
With that said,  parts of Jackson’s death do hit close to home. I know how it feels to lose someone close to you much earlier in life than anyone would have expected, and my heart goes out to the entire Jackson family. No parent should have to bury their own child like Joe Jackson will. No kid should lose a parent like MJ’s three did yesterday. And if you’re reading this, then you probably have an intense love of music or a musician that goes far beyond being describable. You most likely have had some moment where you listen to a song and say, “I’m so glad the person who made this existed. My life wouldn’t have been the same without them.” My heart goes out to the people who felt that way about Michael Jackson’s music, and by extension, him. We’re sorry.

– Matt Poindexter

Tagged with:

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Desiree Scicluna said, on July 7, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    Michael Jackson, it saddens me that I never got a chance to meet you, but that does not change the fact that you weren’t so much apart of me and apart of who I am in this world. You changed the world and you inspired people, you catered for those in need and you never stopped believing. I love you with all my heart and you taught me how to sing with feeling. I have danced and sung for many years, and it is what I long to do. But just like you said…if I don’t feel it I won’t sing it. I can’t agree with you more. Thank you for everything. I know you’re in a wonderful place where you are at peace and eternal happiness. I hope you’re looking down at your world right now, and I hope you’re seeing how much you really made a difference.
    I love you Michael Jackson, and I always will.
    Thinking of you always, Desiree Scicluna.


Leave a Reply

